top of page

Farewell, My Friend

I've dreamed of living in New York City for as long as I can remember and I can't believe I was lucky enough to have my dreams come true. As I reminisce about my time in this amazing city, I realize just how many cool things I've gotten to do in just four months here. Read on for my highlights...


Show Business


About 56 television shows have been actively filming in New York City this year, according to Mayor De Blasio. That is a ton, if you think about it, so if you're living here, you're bound to stumble upon a set every once in a while. I have been fortunate enough to watch two different shows being filmed while here.

The first was The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel in Central Park. This one was so cool, because there were tons of actors in full costume including children. It was like going back in time!

The other show was Marvel's Jessica Jones. This one was so unique and awesome, because they filmed IN MY APARTMENT BUILDING! I was so fortunate to be living in one of their permanent shooting locations. They filmed four times while I was here and I watched every time.





NYFW


Okay, now this one still stuns me. I never EVER thought I would get to say this, but I went to New York Fashion Week and sat in the second row! My professor invited our class to see Marcel Ostertag's Spring collection and it was breathtaking! The show was at the beautiful Spring Studios in Soho. My favorite look of the collection was the purple one with yellow and pink fringe!








Show Business Pt. 2


Not only did I get to see pre-taped shows, but I also got to experience two LIVE television shows from the studio audiences.


The first show I went to see was Live With Kelly and Ryan. I had to get up super early and wait in line for three hours, but it was totally worth it! I took my parents along and got invited to a second show taping where we saw their favorite actor, Tom Selleck. I've been watching this show since I was little, so it was cool to be there in-person.


The other show I went to was The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. I've been dreaming of being in the audience of this show ever since Jimmy started, so this was totally a dream-come-true. I laughed more than I've ever laughed at anything and Jimmy was super nice to us.

I'd reccommend anyone who lives in New York City to make an account on 1iota.com and check it frequently. That's how I got to go to these tapings and have such awesome experiences. All of the tickets are completely free!



Underground Rock


Anyone who knows me could tell you that I am a rock fanatic.(The music not the inanimate object.) With that being said, maybe you can understand a bit of my excitement over this last tidbit.

My boyfriend came to visit for my birthday (cute,right?!) and we decided to find the building previously known as CBGB. It is now a John Varvatos showroom, but it's still freaking awesome! There were peeling stickers still covering the walls and everything. Long live rock 'n roll.

The other totally rad thing I accomplished was getting myself on the guest list for my favorite band, Hippo Campus' underground concert where they tested out their new album before it was released. I went alone to the random underground venue in East Village and had the time of my life!



I am so incredibly thankful for my experience in this crazy, gorgeous city. I will miss it like crazy, but I know I'll be back soon enough.


Until then,

xoxo -Amelia Anne


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2
Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Contact

Have a burning question about fashion, food, or ANYTHING?  Send me a note!

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
bottom of page